Racing News

Diverse Group of 28 Nominated to Black-Eyed Susan

Historic Race for Sophomore Fillies Run for 95th Time Friday, May 17
Tops 14-Race Program of Seven Stakes, Four Graded, Worth $1.15 million

BALTIMORE – Graded-stakes winners Jaywalk and Always Shopping and Maryland-based Las Setas, riding a four-race win streak including three straight stakes, top a diverse group of 28 horses nominated to the $250,000 Xpressbet Black-Eyed Susan Friday, May 17 at Pimlico Race Course.

Improbable Imposing Prospect for May 18 Preakness Stakes

Signalman ‘Fresh’ for Middle Jewel of Triple Crown

BALTIMORE, MD – In the absence of Maximum Security, Country House and Code of Honor, beaten Kentucky Derby (G1) favorite Improbable is expected to vie for favoritism in the 144th Preakness Stakes (G1) at Pimlico Race Course May 18.

Black-Eyed Susan (G2) Possible for Our Super Freak

95th Running of $250,000 Stakes Headlines Friday, May 17 Program
BALTIMORE, MD – Our Super Freak, second or third in five consecutive stakes dating back to last fall, may get her chance at that elusive stakes victory in the 95th running of the $250,000 Xpressbet Black-Eyed Susan (G2) at legendary Pimlico Race Course.

‘Bourbon’ Ready to Go to ‘War’ in May 18 Preakness Stakes

Mott ‘Leaning Toward’ Middle Jewel for Country House
Connections of ‘Healthy and Happy’ War of Will Eye Preakness

BALTIMORE, MD – Bourbon Lane Stable and Lake Star Stable’s Bourbon War, fourth in the $1 million Florida Derby (G1) at Gulfstream Park in his most recent start, has joined the probable list for the 144th Preakness Stakes (G1) at Pimlico Race Course May 18.

Trainers Eligible for $150,000 in Bonus Money Preakness Weekend

Nominations Due May 7 for 16 Stakes, Nine Graded, Worth $3.8 Million

BALTIMORE – For the third straight year, the Maryland Jockey Club is offering a total of $150,000 in bonus money to trainers that accumulate the most points during stakes and non-stakes races over Preakness weekend at legendary Pimlico Race Course.

Owner Leaning Toward Sending Laughing Fox to G1 Preakness

Earned Automatic Berth with Victory in May 4 Oaklawn Invitational

BALTIMORE – While a final decision won’t come for at least a few days, if all goes well Alex and JoAnn Lieblong’s Laughing Fox is likely headed to the 144th Preakness Stakes (G1) Saturday, May 18 at legendary Pimlico Race Course.

Derby Winner Country House Tops Prospects for 144th Preakness

Middle Jewel of Triple Crown Saturday, May 18 at Pimlico Race Course

BALTIMORE – Kentucky Derby (G1) winner Country House tops the list of candidates for the 144th Preakness Stakes (G1) – the Middle Jewel of the Triple Crown at Pimlico Race Course – on May 18.

Alwaysmining ‘Perfect’ in Friday Breeze for G1 Preakness

Multiple Stakes Winner Goes Half-Mile at Fair Hill Training Center

ELKTON, MD – An energetic Alwaysmining returned to the work tab on a foggy and cool Friday morning at the Fair Hill Training Center with a half-mile breeze for the 144th Preakness Stakes (G1) that trainer Kelly Rubley called “perfect.”

TAA to Receive Special Award of Merit at Preakness

BALTIMORE – The Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance, which has granted nearly $14 million in grants to accredited Thoroughbred aftercare organizations, will receive the Special Award of Merit Thursday, May 16 at the Alibi Breakfast at Pimlico Race Course.

The Special Award of Merit is given to those who have made a positive impact on the racing industry. Previous recipients have included Jim McKay, D. Wayne Lukas, Dr. Dean Richardson and Edgar Prado, Team American Pharoah, and King Leatherbury.

Byk to Receive Old Hilltop Award at Alibi Breakfast Preakness Week

BALTIMORE – Writer and broadcaster Steve Byk, host of ‘At the Races with Steve Byk’ on SiriusXM, will receive the Old Hilltop Award May 16 at the Alibi Breakfast at Pimlico Race Course.

The Old Hilltop Award is given annually to an individual who covers Thoroughbred racing with excellence and distinction. Previous Old Hilltop recipients include Red Smith, Joe Hirsch, Edwin Pope, Sam McCracken, Jim McKay, Dave Johnson, Scott Wykoff and Keith Mills.